A new digital business model that works

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
We all just love to be helpful and share. In social media today people are sharing everything and feel great about it. We tend to share knowledge, ideas and emotional experiences.  I found something very interesting that’s going on in Norway these days. I got to know this, by “accident”, some weeks ago, and I’ve thought about it, looked at it and wondered if this is just another idea, or if it is an idea that could move business models in the digital area one step further. And I think it might!

It’s called musicnodes.com . Still in an early stage of developement and it looks very promising. To get to the point of what this is: It’s a embedded player, where you can listen to a tune. There’s nothing new in that.
You can buy the tune as well and you can share the tune with your friends and network, nothing new in that either. 
The new is that the content is placed contextual. Another aspect is that it’s not a website, where you go to and find your music and then buy what you want. 
Musicnodes is a play bar that can be located on any website with relevant content. Since this is music, the daily news article, about music is a great place, the online music sites is also a great place to share music. The spread happens when people start sharing the play bar in their respective networks.(e mail, Twitter, Facebook and so on)

Business model
The business model is very interesting. As we know; creators of content holds copyrights. As far as I know all countries have organizations that take care of the business aspect of using someone’s music. Radio/TV, film and others are using music produced by others and have to pay for the usage. On the internet this is also the case, but has become very difficult to manage, since people love to share.  This have created a problem for musicians, for record companies and so on.  Revenues are dropping dramatically in the business as a consequence. 
Musicnodes have set up a model where the musician gets a large part of the revenue created. The publisher also gets a large part. The least part of the income goes to musicnodes. Furthermore when people listen to the tune, and want to share it, the embedded tune is sent by e.g. e-mail, “share on Facebook” and so on – the revenues split follow the tune and the all involved continue to earn on the sale of this tune, each time!
Online publishers will just love this model, and so will the musicians, and other copyright holders. This might provide the music business with a sustainable business model that take care of all involved parties in a manner no one have done up till now.

Contextual advertisement
When is it most likely that you will be the most interested in listening to a tune? Isn’t that when you are in the mindset, like when you’re  reading an editorial story about the genre, the artist or a news article about the music you love? And then, there it is.
For the publisher, it’s not even an advert, it’s just added value for the reader. The best part is that the publishers earn money sharing this added value. For the reader it’s not a “banner ad up in the face”, it’s a neat way to get the tune there and then, no hassle finding a music store (down town, or online), searching for the right tune. It’s right there, easy accessible.
The motivation for the reader, to convert into a buyer is very high, just in that moment. This is in fact a real and functioning example of the semantic web, and behavioral advertisement!  A very strong concept indeed. I’ve written about this in a former posting; HERE.

Network sharing
We are social, this idea appeals to our pattern of behavior. To give someone something makes us feel well and sharing makes us connected with others. Creating a business that “run” by the natural rules of human behavior is very likely to be a strong business model. I believe that this is the case with musicnodes.com .
It’s the same principles that’s behind “six degrees of separation”, viral marketing and whom we trust the most. Social media and networking arenas has grown immensely the last few years and there is no doubt that conducting business are about to get new rules to play by.
I’m looking very much forward to see what happens next, and in which ways this innovative concept will spread. The concept, is as lot’s of you already have started thinking is that it’s not limited to music. There is a whole range of products and services where this will apply.

While waiting for the script (to embedd on my blog) to be approved by www.wordpress.com you may have a look at the new concept HERE 
The tune is by Ingrid Olava, won’t be silenced – catchy title?

Update: I did some statistics: in one hour I had 51 unique visitors on my page. That created 90 Clicks on the node, and 62 that downloaded the tune for free (payed by sponsor) Ingrid Olava earned cash on this, and so did I. Amazing, the network sharing effect really works. Remember this test is with no player (just a primitive link) and I’m not running a music blog, nor is the content relevant for the player/tune

48 Responses to “A new digital business model that works”

  1. Geir –

    Thanks for sharing these concepts, and the application of the concepts in musicnodes.com.

    To me, the exciting features are the possibility of having an “action widget” flow throughout networks, with all parties adding value receiving value on the transaction.

    I also see many other applications of these concepts.

    Exciting times!

    And, I got to listen to Ingrid Olava.

    Thanks,
    Chuck

  2. Who can post an article in an article directory? Anyone who wishes to post an article can do that for free in our article directory, but if you are a customer of ours then its our responsibility to publish your article not only in our directory but also in all other article marketing directories. http://www.melbal.com

  3. You should add some social bookmark buttons to your blog posts. You should at least add one for Digg so we can digg you up!

  4. I comment when I especially enjoy a post on a blog or if I have something to add to the conversation.

    Usually it’s caused by the passion displayed in the post I looked at. And on this article A new digital business model that works | Geir Stene’s Weblog.
    I was actually excited enough to post a thought 🙂 I actually do have
    2 questions for you if you usually do not mind. Is it simply me or does it give the impression like a few of these responses come across as if they are left by brain dead individuals?
    😛 And, if you are writing on other sites, I would like to keep up with you.
    Could you make a list all of all your community sites like
    your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  5. If you wish for to grow your familiarity only keep visiting this web page and
    be updated with the most up-to-date news posted
    here.

  6. I think the admin of this site is actually working hard for
    his web site, as here every information is quality based stuff.

  7. I’m really loving the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems? A handful of my blog visitors have complained about my website not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have any tips to help fix this problem?

  8. My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using
    WordPress on a number of websites for about a year and am concerned about switching to another platform.
    I have heard fantastic things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress content
    into it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  9. Greetings! I’ve been reading your blog for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Austin Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the great work!

  10. The concept of CCTV Manchester is quite popular since
    it means installing the cameras to make it a less complicated situation
    inside the building so as to handle mannerism and behavior and
    make staff get aware of the CCTV camera. Observe polarity when you are setting up the cables.
    Because of this it is much more dangerous and risky committing a crime because the likelihood of getting caught is so much greater.

  11. If you live in a very somewhat public area, just like a college dorm, have a cable lock.
    It features full sized keys on most of the keyboard, as
    an alternative to making each of the keys smaller, it just condensed
    the keys about the periphery from the keyboard, leaving the letters
    and numbers full-sized. Click Start, Control Panel, User account,
    select Melisa and then you are able to change the
    password to what you want.

  12. Hello! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?

    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up
    losing several weeks of hard work due to no backup. Do you have any solutions to stop hackers?

  13. I’m currently only making 86% of what my male counterparts make, but I don’t tell him that, instead I just say that based on the level
    of responsibility and my skillset, I think something in the $X-range is reasonable (where $X is the thousands range that
    my male counterparts are being paid). Monoclonal antibody technology uses the cells from
    the immune system to make antibodies. Let us look at some simple stuff
    you can do to lower your marketing costs and be quick to beat the competition in your business.

  14. This is my first time go to see at here and
    i am in fact pleassant to read everthing at one place.

  15. Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it
    was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any suggestions for newbie blog writers? I’d certainly
    appreciate it.

  16. australian online business opportunities Says:

    Again, there is no difficulty in doing this
    given it’s what one does best. Work is abundant in the world of freelance writing. Lynn Van – Dyke’s site
    is now within the top 1% of all websites according to Alexa.

  17. Indeed, some patients become so relaxed that they go off to sleep while they are being treated and
    only woken when everything is finished. There
    are some health care centers providing facility of consultant by charging a small amount of fee.
    The main aspect is regarding the care imparted on your teeth.

  18. As a sister or best friend, she will be a confidante,
    encourager, and general support. When it comes to sports trading pins, bigger is always better,
    because a bigger pin has more visual appeal. ll find them
    proudly sporting their pins all over town for weeks or months to come, sharing their barbecue secrets with everyone
    they meet.

  19. The most important advantage of these servers is its capability
    to provide all the required services and that to at a reasonable price.
    You can see what other peoples opinions and ratings are about certain hosts.
    Generally all the open source software like, My – SQL,
    PHP and ASP, which are available freely in the market run effectively on Windows thus making Windows
    hosting a preferred choice over Linux.

  20. The thinking about managers and optimize decision-making applied on the information system to
    satisfy the i . t . business development. Environmental disasters along with a global financial crisis dominate the
    headlines. ‘ (Early education curriculum: a youngster’s connection on the world, Delmar Publishers, 1997.

  21. Hi to every body, it’s my first pay a quick visit of this web site; this blog includes remarkable and really excellent data designed for readers.

  22. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark
    your blog and will eventually come back very soon. I want to encourage you
    continue your great work, have a nice holiday weekend!

  23. Spot on with this write-up, I really believe this website needs a lot
    more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read through more, thanks for the
    info!

  24. When someone writes an paragraph he/she maintains the image of a user in his/her mind that
    how a user can be aware of it. Therefore that’s why this piece of
    writing is outstdanding. Thanks!

  25. What i do not understood is in fact how you are not really much more smartly-liked than you might be now.
    You are so intelligent. You know thus significantly when it
    comes to this matter, produced me personally believe it from numerous numerous angles.
    Its like women and men are not involved except it
    is something to do with Girl gaga! Your own stuffs nice.
    At all times maintain it up!

  26. Nowadays, personal computer screen am located drove a wedge between straight into CRT and also
    LCD observer. CRT observe becomes built with a CRT scrutinize look and also really feel reminiscent with the
    TELEVISION SET. Their core hindrances are the load
    moreover size. In recent times, transpire near forced from the consumed (except
    for in some zastosowanimi that will however function in good health) used for LCD screen, which can be proposed for the liquid crystal panel, which usually
    traded the gotten CRT show tv. The retail price for your less important dimensions on the crest is
    frequently lessen vision value.

  27. Good day! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate!
    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this article to him.
    Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  28. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s
    time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I want
    to suggest you some interesting things or advice. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read more things about it!

  29. safe muscle building supplements for women

    A new digital business model that works | Geir Stene’s Weblog

  30. Thank you, I have recently been searching for information approximately this topic for a while and yours is the greatest I’ve came
    upon so far. However, what in regards to the bottom line?
    Are you positive concerning the source?

  31. This design is incredible! You obviously know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to
    start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job.
    I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  32. Helpful information. Fortunate me I discovered your web site by chance, and I’m shocked why this accident didn’t took place earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

  33. Hello to every single one, it’s really a pleasant for me to visit
    this site, it contains useful Information.

  34. Very good info. Lucky me I recently found your blog
    by chance (stumbleupon). I’ve saved it for later!

  35. Hello, all is going well here and ofcourse every one is sharing information, that’s
    in fact excellent, keep up writing.

  36. Hurrah, that’s what I was seeking for, what a material!
    existing here at this webpage, thanks admin of this web page.

  37. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before
    but after looking at many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I discovered it and I’ll be bookmarking it
    and checking back regularly!

  38. Muscle gym

    A new digital business model that works | Geir Stene’s Weblog

  39. My family members every time say that I am killing my time here at
    net, but I know I am getting familiarity
    every day by reading such good content.

  40. Valuable info. Lucky me I discovered your website
    by chance, and I am surprised why this twist of fate did not happened in advance!
    I bookmarked it.

  41. I was able to fnd goo information from your articles.

  42. Hi, i feel that i saw you visited my website so i got here to return the desire?.I’m
    attempting to find issues to enhance my website!I assume its ok to make use of some of your ideas!!

  43. Helpful information. Fortunate me I found your site accidentally, and I am stunned why this twist of fate didn’t came about earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

  44. ctr bot

    A new digital business model that works | Geir Stene's Weblog

  45. how to get An ex back

    A new digital business model that works | Geir Stene's Weblog

Leave a comment