I’m not angry at google.com and the NAA, just very, very disappointed!

Beggar_cup_coinsI should have charged 5 $ in cash,- but what the heck I’ll do it for free!
It’s just amazing, and I’m not sure if I’m reading what I do. Google.com wants to establish a micro payment system for content? Google.com wants to use their “Checkout” system and they are about to finishing their new platform.

It was Andreas Wiese in the Norwegian newspaper Dagbladet.no that told me he wrote an article (print only)about it and I went out and bought the “old style” print paper (Print and coffee has a certain fragrance that’s so delicious!)

Please Google.com; correct me if I’m wrong. Why should Google provide this micro payment service only for one kind of business (Online newspapers)? To me it’s obvious that Google want everyone on the planet to “check-in” at Google in the morning, before you go to work, and that you should start give away some of your hard earned money before coffee; to Google, and why? Because Google want you to? Could you imagine a better reason? “Oh – if Google want me to pay, then it must be OK.”

It took me less than two minutes research to find that Nieman Journalism Lab, by Zachary M Seward published the story the ninth of September 2009.(at their page you can download the actual memo sent from Google.com to The News Association of America. NAA had sent out a request for paid-content proposals.)   The Wall Street Journal, blogs, Reuter blogs and a lot of media around the world followed up and states their skepticism.

Looking closer into this I can’t see that any newspaper would want this, less accepts it. It’s NOT Visa (or the like) providing a micro payment system to content producers!  It’s NOT someone independent from the content! It’s Google.com. Google.com is a “content collector” of huge dimensions, with an established power structure, in reality without competitors, which should make lots of us very uncomfortable as is. Enabling Google with yet another angle of attack to the market would be highly dangerous. Media- Publishing houses, news organizations and a lot of other businesses should really think twice. How to be able to conduct business in an independent manner? If Google controls access (via their search results), a huge amount of knowledge about users and content and also (with this idea) be in charge of, and control every possible entrance point to access content itself, and by that get an economic advantage for free? Why should the media- news and publishing industry ever think of this? It’s selling out their value for a cup of a beggar coins, when google really should pay them for making such a pleseant living out of presenting news organizations (and all others) content!

This idea of Google threatens the free enterprise and in reality represents a wish to create a monopoly that very few gouvernments, competitors, enterprises and end users around the world should accept.

Looking into Goggle.com’s business idea itself, I really can’t see how Google dares to go there. This is challenging everything users of the Internet know about the Internet and wants it to be. It’s like arguing that the democracy shouldn’t have elections anymore. It could possibly ruin Google as a company, not only damaging the brand.

Furthermore; micro transactions as a revenue stream for Google and  for content producers is a very primitive business model. And I really don’t understand how Google.com, which sits on the options to develop lots of far more lucrative business models, can even think of this. I just don’t get it. For the news- media and Publishing business it’s equally a primitive business model in a digital environment. In my opinion it will onlybe an obstacle and reduce the speed of innovation and leave businesses (including Google.com) with far less revenues than they can with alternative models. We know this because telecom-, community-advertising and  e- commerce businesses (to name a few) have far more advanced and lucrative models installed already. And the developments of those will become far more prosperous in the near future.

So why? Why at all Google? The risks involved, the critics, the oppositions Google will meet, from competitors, governments, and the world wide public may very well put Google in a very unpleasant situation.  To Google and the media industry; neither of the two parties are in such bad state as the woman in the classic Mad TV skit, so I say as the therapist  – Stop it!

15 Responses to “I’m not angry at google.com and the NAA, just very, very disappointed!”

  1. Your style is unique compared to other people I have read stuff from.
    Thank you for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this web site.

  2. Excellent way of describing, and good piece of writing to take data
    on the topic of my presentation topic, which i am going to deliver in school.

  3. I am sure this post has touched all the internet people, its really really nice piece
    of writing on building up new web site.

  4. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website.
    I am hoping to view the same high-grade content by you later on as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired
    me to get my very own site now😉

  5. This web site really has all of the info I needed about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  6. At last, after surfing http://gstene.wordpress.
    com/2009/09/13/i’m-not-angry-at-google-com-and-the-naa-just-very-very-disappointed/ for a while, I got a site from where I was able to genuinely acquire beneficial insights
    regarding the studies and the knowledge that
    I want. There need to be more things like this on PivotX
    . It’s made me recall the reason why I loved this blog so much.
    Thanks a lot, I will try and check back more often. . How frequently do you update your site nowadays?

  7. Magnificent web site. Lots of helpful information here.
    I am sending it to several pals ans also sharing in delicious.
    And certainly, thank you for your sweat!

  8. Hello, i feel that i saw you visited my web site so i came
    to go back the favor?.I am attempting to to find things to improve my website!

    I guess its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  9. chopper tattoo website design Says:

    Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?

    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few
    months of hard work due to no backup. Do you have any methods to stop hackers?

  10. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.

    I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a
    bit, but other than that, this is fantastic blog. An excellent read.
    I’ll definitely be back.

  11. Fantastic blog! Do you have any helpful hints for
    aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.

    Would you recommend starting with a free platform like
    Wordpress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices
    out there that I’m completely confused .. Any suggestions? Appreciate it!

  12. Your style is really unique in comparison to other folks I have read stuff
    from. Many thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity, Guess I will just bookmark this web site.

  13. After looking at a handful of the articles on your website, I really like your way of blogging.
    I added it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back in the near
    future. Take a look at my website as well and let me know your opinion.

  14. wonderful submit, very informative. I’m wondering why the other experts of this sector don’t notice this.
    You must proceed your writing. I am confident, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!

  15. I have read so many posts about the blogger lovers but this piece of writing is really a good
    paragraph, keep it up.

Leave a Reply

